勇往直前 铁姆肯公司收购了 Cone Drive,为不断壮大的产品组合增加了精密齿轮解决方案

成长

勇往直前 铁姆肯公司收购了 Cone Drive,为不断壮大的产品组合增加了精密齿轮解决方案

七年前,Philadelphia Gear 公司被铁姆肯公司收购,Carl Rapp 当时还是这家被收购的公司的一员。

“铁姆肯公司非常善于整合,”他说。“公司的领导们让这家公司保留了品牌、总部和卓越文化,确保这家公司不会因为被收购而失去自己的特色。”如今,Rapp 已经在铁姆肯公司一部分业务的负责人,主要负责生产和维修齿轮传动装置、电机以及其他的多种工业用传动系组件。

铁姆肯公司在收购 Philadelphia Gear 之后又进行了多笔收购,为自己旗下的产品组合增加了一些领先的动力传动品牌,例如 DrivesCarlisle BeltsLovejoyGroeneveld。现在,联轴器、皮带、链条和自动润滑系统、线性运动产品等对铁姆肯公司 120 年来一直享有盛誉的滚子轴承产品线提供了有力补充。

这一增长策略使公司能够为客户和经销商提供更丰富的优质品牌产品组合以及深厚的技术知识和市场洞察力。

“如今,铁姆肯公司正在成为领先的动力传动产品和服务公司,”Rapp 说道。“我们已经证明,我们是一家出类拔萃的滚子轴承公司。现在,我们要利用质量、工程专业知识和卓越制造能力打下的坚实基础,打造更强大的盈利性的品牌和能力。”

Carl Rapp, Group Vice President

在公司开创更加多元化的未来的道路上,Rapp 扮演着一个非常重要的角色。在今年的秋季,他将主持铁姆肯公司最近对于Cone Drive的收购整合工作,并帮助这家公司实现增长。基于他在铁姆肯公司的资历和经验,他将对这个项目的所有方面负责。

精密运动控制领域的领导者

Cone Drive 拥有辉煌的历史。Samuel I. Cone 在 1925 年发明了二次包络蜗杆,这项发明在 20 世纪 40 年代的美国军事设备中发挥了非常重要的作用。这种蜗杆采用了独特的设计,增大了传动装置与齿轮箱之间的接触面,使负载能够集中在更小的空间中。这样,制造商就能够在更小的空间中传输更多的动力。

1950 年,该公司在密歇根洲的特拉弗斯城建立了目前的总部。Cone Drive的工程师们开始将数控技术整合到他们的产品中,这是一项由特拉弗斯城居民John Parsons于1948年发明的技术。

这项发明让该公司踏上了精密传动之路。尽管铁姆肯公司的所有齿轮解决方案都非常出色,但 Cone Drive 的蜗杆传动技术将精度提高到了一个新的水平,并因此诞生了一些适用于体积更小、对于运动有着精确标准的设备。如今,Cone Drive 以其在现代自动化方面的领先地位而闻名,并致力于为用于定位向日太阳能板的追踪器等产品生产齿轮组,或者为现代化工厂中使用的机械臂生产齿轮组。

扩展铁姆肯公司在全球提供的产品和服务

Rapp 声称,Cone Drive 专注于成长型市场,例如太阳能、机器人以及食品和饮料行业,这样就完善了铁姆肯公司现有的动力传动产品线,例如 Philadelphia Gear 所销售的那些产品。这笔收购创造了一个重大的机遇,能够让 Cone Drive 为其原始设备制造商 (OEM) 供应 Philadelphia Gear 的产品,反之亦然。

Cone Drive 也为Timken轴承开辟了一些成长型市场。反过来说,Cone Drive 也可以利用铁姆肯公司在北美、南美、欧洲、中东和非洲建立的巨大销售和经销网络扩大自己的全球销售额。

“他们的价值主张和铁姆肯公司非常相似,”Rapp 说道。“Cone Drive 在客户利益、市场、技术和产品供应等方面和我们非常紧密地衔接在一起。Cone Drive 让我们能够涉足需要采用蜗杆传动技术的精密设备所在的行业和应用。Cone Drive的首席执行官Kurt Gamelin和他的团队将继续领导相关业务,凭借优异的价值创造让Cone Drive在成为铁姆肯公司一员后保持增长。”

机遇还不止于此。Cone Drive 在 2014 年收购了中国的回转传动装置制造商——华方 (H-Fang)。“在对世界上最先进的机床进行的新投资中,很大一部分都发生在东南亚,”Rapp 说道。“华方让我们能够在这些市场占有一席之地,并让我们在这些产品线中具备了相当强的竞争能力。”

和铁姆肯公司一样,Cone Drive 也提供 OEM 设备零部件,并为已安装的设备提供售后服务。凭借这笔收购,铁姆肯公司得以延续自己的战略:凭借同样优异的质量和出色的品牌认知度,提供相关的产品和服务,以完善自己的核心产品和服务。

这一战略让客户获得对OEM和售后服务通盘考虑的益处,而不是仅仅着眼于一个小小的零部件。“我们会充分利用客户对我们的信任,选择性地收购公司和增加服务,以便扩大我们的收入基数和解决更多的客户问题,”Rapp 说道。

Driving Forward with Precision Timken Acquires Cone Drive, Adding Precision Gearing Solutions to Its Growing Portfolio

Grow

Driving Forward with Precision Timken Acquires Cone Drive, Adding Precision Gearing Solutions to Its Growing Portfolio

Seven years ago, Carl Rapp was on the receiving end of an acquisition when his company, Philadelphia Gear, was acquired by Timken.

“Timken is smart about integrations,” he says. “Company leaders make sure acquisitions don’t lose what makes them unique—retaining brands, headquarters, and great cultures of excellence.” Today, Rapp leads a group of Timken businesses that manufacture and repair gear drives, motors, and a variety of other industrial drive train components.

In the series of acquisitions that followed Philadelphia Gear, Timken added leading power transmission brands such as Drives, Carlisle Belts, Lovejoy, and Groeneveld to its portfolio. Couplings, belts, chains, automated lubrication systems, linear motion products, and much more now complement Timken’s roller bearing product line, for which the company has been known for 120 years.

This growth strategy set the company up to deliver an expanded portfolio of premium-quality brands to customers and distributors, along with the deep technical knowledge and market insights that they bring to the table.

"Timken is becoming a leading power transmission products and services company,” says Rapp. “We’ve proven ourselves as a preeminent roller bearing company. Now, we’re taking that foundation of quality, engineering expertise, and manufacturing excellence and building a larger, profitable network of brands and capabilities."

Carl Rapp, Vice President, Power Systems

In his role, Rapp is a key figure in the company’s drive toward a more diversified future. This fall, he’s been charged with leading the integration and growth of one of Timken’s newest acquisitions, Cone Drive. It’s a full-circle assignment, given his background with the company.

A leader in precision motion control

Cone Drive has a proud history. Samuel I. Cone’s 1925 invention of the double-enveloping worm gear played a large role in U.S. military equipment during the 1940s. Its unique design increases the contact surface between the drive and the gearbox, which enables the load to be concentrated in a smaller space. This allows manufacturers to transmit more power in smaller footprints.

In 1950, the company’s current headquarters was established in Traverse City, Michigan. Cone Drive engineers began incorporating numerical control into its products, a technology that Traverse City resident John Parsons had invented in 1948.

That innovation put the company on the precision drive path. While all Timken gearing solutions are premium, Cone Drive’s worm drive technology takes precision to the next level, with solutions for smaller equipment that require exacting standards for movement. Today, Cone Drive is known for its leadership in modern automation, producing gear sets for trackers that position solar panels as they follow the sun, for example, or for the robotic arms used in modern factories.

Expanding Timken’s global offerings

Rapp says Cone Drive’s focus on growth markets such as solar, robotics, and food and beverage, complements existing Timken power transmission product lines, such as those sold by Philadelphia Gear. The acquisition represents a significant opportunity to position Cone Drive with Philadelphia Gear product offerings at their original equipment manufacturers (OEMs), and vice versa.

Cone Drive also represents growth markets for Timken bearings and, conversely, Cone Drive can leverage the vast Timken sales and distribution network throughout North and South America, Europe, the Middle East and Africa to expand its global sales.

“Their value proposition is very similar to Timken,” says Rapp. “Cone Drives offers great adjacency for us in terms of customer benefit, markets, technology and product offerings. Cone Drive exposes us to industries and applications where precision equipment requires worm gear drive technology.”   

The opportunities don’t stop there. Cone Drive acquired China-based slewing drive manufacturer, H-Fang, in 2014. “Much of the new investment in the world’s most advanced machine tools is happening in Southeast Asia,” says Rapp. “H-Fang gives us a presence there for those markets and a great competitive position within those product lines.”

Like Timken, Cone Drive offers OEM equipment parts, along with aftermarket servicing of an installed base of equipment. With this acquisition, Timken continues its strategy of offering adjacent products and services that complement its core offerings, with equal quality and superior brand recognition.

The strategy offers customers the advantage of OEM and aftermarket services that have entire systems in view, rather than only one small part. “We’re taking advantage of the trust our customers have placed in us to selectively add companies and services that help expand our revenue base and solve more customer problems,” says Rapp.